Helper application for direct editing

Direct Editing

BSCW allows the direct editing of documents, i.e. opening, editing and saving the document from the Web browser, in different ways:

  • for text and HTML documents: by using editors integrated into the Web browser
  • for Microsoft Office documents with Internet Explorer: by using WebDAV
  • for all types of documents: by connecting to a local helper application
Usage of the local helper application requires the following two steps which are described in more detail below:
  • Installation of the local helper application
  • Configuration of the BSCW preferences

After execution of these steps you may directly edit the types of documents you desire: select the action Edit (in the Change menu) for such a document, and the helper application will start the local application corresponding to the cocument type (e.g. Microsoft Word) with the particular document.

Installation of the Local Helper Application

BSCW supports as local helper application the Zope External Editor Client. This application is also used for the content management framework Zope. The Zope client is available for the Windows platform. After download and installation, the Zope client is ready to use; all the usual document types are preconfigured. If you are using a specific network connection (e.g. a proxy server), you may have to further configure the Zope client (see  README).

 For installation of the local helper application, please download the Zope client for Windows:

 url  Download Zope External Editor for Windows

After having carried out the installation, log into BSCW and change your personal preferences according to which document types you want to directly edit.

Note: the Zope Client is not developed by OrbiTeam Software, but by developers of the Zope/Plone community. The software is provided under the Zope Public License. OrbiTeam makes available for download a copy of the Zope Client for Windows from the Plone Website. The official distributio of the Zope Client is on the Plone Website:

  url  http://plone.org/products/zope-externaleditor-client

Configuration of the BSCW Preferences

Open your personal preferences in BSCW via

  • Options / Preferences / General / File Handling
Under External editors, select those document types for which you want to activate direct editing with local applications, e.g. Microsoft Word or OpenOffice Writer, via the Zope client.

Trouble shooting

MFC DLL for Zope Client is missing

The Zope client requires a certain dynamic linking library of Microsoft, the so-called MFC DLL. If a respective error message appears during installation or execution of the Zope client, you should download and install this DLL on your system. You need the  mfc71.dll (1,060,864 bytes) - copy this file to the System32 directory of Windows.

Proxy Server

If you are using a proxy server, you have to configure the Zope client so that it also uses this proxy server. Under Windows you can very easily edit the configuration file of the Zope client (ZopeEdit.ini) by starting the Zope client from the Start menu. Check your local proxy configuration in your Web browser (or ask your system administrator) and enter the deatils into the configuration file of the Zope client (proxy, proxy_user, proxy_pass).

Note: Zope External Editor Client is (c) 2008, Thierry Benita, Jean-Nicolas Bes, atReal, Casey Duncan and Zope Corporation. All rights reserved. For further details see README. The software is provided under the Zope Public License (ZPL) Version 2.0 - see LICENSE.

Hilfsprogramm zur direkten Bearbeitung

Direkte Dokumentbearbeitung

BSCW ermöglicht die direkte Dokumentbearbeitung, d.h. das Öffnen, Bearbeiten und Speichern eines Dokumentes aus dem Web-Browser auf unterschiedliche Weise:

  • für Text und HML-Dokumente: durch integrierte Editoren im Web-Browser
  • für MS-Office-Dokumente im Internet-Explorer: durch Einsatz von WebDAV
  • für alle Dokumenttypen: durch Anbindung eines von uns bereitgestellten lokalen Hilfsprogramms
Die Anbindung des lokalen Hilfsprogramms erfordert dabei die nachfolgenden zwei Schritte:
  • Installation des Hilfsprogramms
  • Konfiguration der Einstellungen in BSCW

Nach Durchführung dieser beiden Schritte können Sie für die gewünschten Dokumenttypen die direkte Bearbeitung in BSCW nutzen, so dass beim Aufruf der Aktion Bearbeiten (im Menü Ändern)  die entsprechende lokale Anwendung (z.B. MS-Word) mit dem jeweiligen Dokument geöffnet wird.

Installation des lokalen Hilfsprogramms

BSCW unterstützt als lokales Hilfsprogramm den Zope-Client. Diese Anwendung wird auch für das Content Management System Zope eingesetzt. Der Zope-Client ist für Windows verfügbar. Nach Download und Installation ist der Zope-Client sofort einsatzbereit. Die gängigen Dokumenttypen sind bereits vorkonfiguriert. Falls Sie eine spezielle Netzwerkanbindung verbinden (z.B. Proxy-Server), sind ggf. noch weitere Konfigurationsschritte erforderlich (s.  README).

Zur Installation des lokalen Hilfsprogramms laden Sie sich bitte den Zope-Client für Ihr Windows herunter:

 url  Download Zope External Editor for Windows

Nach Abschluß der Installation melden Sie sich in BSCW an und ändern Sie die persönlichen Einstellungen entsprechend.

Hinweis: Der Zope-Client wird nicht von OrbiTeam Software entwickelt, sondern von Entwicklern der Zope/Plone-Community. Die Software ist veröffentlicht unter der Zope Public License. OrbiTeam stellt hier den Zope-Client von der Plone-Website für das Windows Betriebssystem zum Download bereit. Die offizielle Distribution des Zope-Client stammt von der Plone-Website:

  url  http://plone.org/products/zope-externaleditor-client

Konfiguration der Einstellungen in BSCW

Zur Einrichtung des lokalen Hilfsprogramms (Zope-Client) zur direkten Dokumentbearbeitung öffnen Sie bitte in BSCW die Einstellungen über

  • Optionen / Einstellungen /Allgemeines / Datei-Behandlung

Wählen Sie dann unter Externe Editorprogramme die Dokumenttypen aus, die mit dem externen Editor verwaltet werden sollen - beispielsweise MS-Office und OpenOffice-Dokumente.

Problemlösungen

MFC DLL für Zope-Client fehlt

Der Zope-Client benötigt eine bestimmte Laufzeitbibliothek von Microsoft: die sog. MFC DLL.  Falls bei der Installation oder beim Start des Zope-Clients eine Fehlermeldung erscheint, die eine fehlende DLL bemängelt, so sollten Sie diese DLL herunterladen und auf Ihrem System installieren. Sie benötigen die mfc71.dll (1,060,864 bytes) - kopieren Sie die Datei in das System32 Verzeichnis von Windows.

Proxy Server

Falls Sie einen Proxy-Server verwenden, so müssen Sie den Zope-Client so einrichten, dass er diesen Proxy-Server ebenfalls verwendet. Unter Windows können Sie die Konfigurationsdatei des Zope-Client (ZopeEdit.ini) einfach bearbeiten, indem Sie den Zope-Client aus dem Start Menü aufrufen. Prüfen Sie Ihre lokale Proxy-Konfiguration in Ihrem Web Browser (oder fragen Sie Ihren Systemadministrator) und geben Sie die Details in der Konfigurationsdatei des Zope-Client ein (proxy, proxy_user, proxy_pass).

Hinweis: Der Zope External Editor Client ist (c) 2008, Thierry Benita, Jean-Nicolas Bes, atReal, Casey Duncan and Zope Corporation. All rights reserved. Weitere Hinweise finden Sie im README. Die Software ist veröffentlicht unter der Zope Public License (ZPL) Version 2.0 - siehe LICENCE.