How do I connect to BSCW using WebDAV?

WebDAV (Web-based Distributed Authoring and Versioning, see www.webdav.org) is a standard protocol which allows users to access files on remote web servers.  BSCW implements WebDAV so that it is possible to browse, upload and download files on a BSCW server using a WebDAV compliant client tool.

WebDAV protocol support is integrated in most operating systems such as MacOS, Windows and Linux (using KDE, for example). Alternatively, special WebDAV client applications may be used which are available for different platforms and at different licensing models (for example: cadaver, DAV Explorer or Novell Netdrive Client).

Connecting to a WebDAV enabled server typically only requires provision of the network URL and user credentials (user name and password), however, the process may vary depending on the WebDAV application used. In the following we shortly describe how to connect to a WebDAV enabled BSCW server using Windows (Windows XP with SP2 or Windows Vista with SP1 is assumed).

Note: Not every BSCW server is WebDAV enabled. This depends on the BSCW version and the server configuration. If in doubt ask your BSCW administrator for help.

Requirements for using WebDAV on Windows

In order to make use of WebDAV on Windows certain requirements must be fulfilled. In particular, availablity and efficiency of WebDAV on Windows depends on the installed system components (like MS-Office) and their versions (e.g. windows/office updates and service packs). We recommend to use the latest service packs provided by Microsoft (e.g. Windows XP with SP3, Windows Vista with SP2 or Windows 7 with SP1).

Furthermore, on Windows7 (in order to reuse WebDAV resources stored on Windows 7) you have to enable the "WebClient service" (disabled by default) by setting the service Startup type to "Automatic":

To check the status, or to enable the WebClient service on a WebDAV client machine:
  1. From the Start menu, point to Administrative Tools, and click Computer Management.
  2. In the details pane, double-click Services and Applications.
  3. Double-click Services.
  4. Scroll down, right-click WebClient, and click Properties.
  5. In the Startup type list box, click Automatic.
  6. Click Apply.
  7. In the Service status section, click Start.
  8. Click OK.


Finally, please note that Windows Vista and 7 only allow WebDAV access via SSL ("https://"-connections) with a "trusted" certificate.

How to connect to BSCW using WebDAV on Windows XP

In order to connect to the BSCW server using WebDAV on Windows XP, it is recommended to use "Network Places" in Windows and then to choose "add network place", where you have to enter the full URL of your BSCW server (e.g., enter "http://mybscw.server.com/bscw/bscw.cgi")  and confirm with [Next]. You will then be prompted for your BSCW user name and password. If everything works fine you will finally see a new item in your "Network Places" in Windows where you get access to the BSCW server. Your home folder (':username') is accessible via the alias folder 'home'. You may now browse your workspaces using the Windows File Explorer, and upload or download files (using copy & paste or drag & drop).

How to connect to BSCW using WebDAV on Windows 7/Vista

In order to connect to the BSCW server using WebDAV on Windows Vista, it is recommended to open the "Computer" (icon on your desktop) then right-click (in an open space of the Window) and to select "Add a Network Location" from the context menu. In the "Add Network Location Wizard" click [Next], choose a "custom network location" and enter the URL of the BSCW server when prompted for the "location of the website". Enter the full BSCW server URL (including /bscw/bscw.cgi) in the "Internet or network address field". For example, enter "http://mybscw.server.com/bscw/bscw.cgi" and click [Next]. You will then be prompted for your BSCW user name and password. If everything works fine you will finally be prompted for a name for this location -  enter a label of your choosing (e.g. "My BSCW Server"). A new item in your "Computer" with that name should then appear (note that this operation may take some time when you connect for the first time). The item provides access to the BSCW server: your home folder (':username') is accessible via the alias folder 'home'. You may now browse your workspaces using the Windows File Explorer, and upload or download files (using copy & paste or drag & drop).

Troubleshooting 

In case the above described method does not work (e.g. password dialog keeps popping up) the following tips have proven to help in most cases on Windows:

  1. Try to connect using https — i.e. enter the full URL
    https://bscw.server.de/bscw/bscw.cgi/
  2. If your server doesn't support HTTPS, ask your BSCW administrator to enable HTTPS on the server. If that is not possible follow the hints given by Microsoft on how to enable basic authentication for WebDAV on the client computer (see below).
  3. Try to add the number sign # to the HTTP address when you enter the URL into the field of the "My Network Places" assistant, e.g. enter  http://bscw.server.de/bscw/bscw.cgi/#
    (This will force Windows XP to use the "Microsoft Data Access Internet Publishing Provider DAV 1.1" mechanism instead of "Microsoft-WebDAV-MiniRedir/5.1.2600")
  4. If the password dialog pops up again and contains a hostname in front of your username  (e.g. "server\\smith"), correct the username (i.e. remove "server"), enter your password and click [OK] (this step may need to be performed several times when connecting for the first time).
  5. If establishing a network connection to your BSCW server is still not possible, try to add the network location and enter the 'share' URL: \\\\bscw.server.de\\bscw\\bscw.cgi
  6. Make sure you’ve installed all recent updates and service packs.
  7. Make sure you’re BSCW server is running the most recent version of the BSCW software. If in doubt ask your BSCW administrator for help

Further hints for Windows users

On Windows (XP/Vista/7) you may not connect to your BSCW server as a network drive using WebDAV if the server does not support SSL. You may want to ask your BSCW administrator to enable HTTPS on the server. If that is not possible, you may want to follow the hints given by Microsoft on how to enable basic authentication for WebDAV on the client computer:
  1. Click Start , type regedit in the Start Search box, and then click regedit.exe in the Programs list.
  2. Locate and then click the following registry key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Services\\WebClient\\Parameters
  3. On the Edit menu, point to New, and then click DWORD Value.
  4. On Vista: Type BasicAuthLevel, and then press ENTER. On the Edit menu, click Modify. In the Value data box, type 2, and then click OK.
  5. On XP: Type UseBasicAuth, and then press ENTER.
    On the Edit menu, click Modify. In the Value data box, type 1, and then click OK.
  6. Close the registry editor. Finally, you should restart you computer.
Note: For security purposes, Windows Vista and Windows XP SP2 disable basic authentication in the Web Distributed Authoring and Versioning (WebDAV) Redirector. Therefore either use of HTTPS (SSL connection) is required or a special configuration (on the client) has to be done as described in the MS Knowledgebase:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/841215/en-us

Wie kann ich WebDAV mit BSCW verwenden?

Hinweise zur Einrichtung von WebDAV mit BSCW

Was ist WebDAV?

WebDAV (Web-based Distributed Authoring and Versioning, s. www.webdav.org) ist ein Netzwerkprotokoll, das Benutzern erlaubt, auf Dateien zuzugreifen, die auf einem Web-Server liegen. BSCW unterstützt WebDAV, so dass es möglich ist, Dateien auf dem BSCW-Server über eine WebDAV-kompatible Anwendung hochzuladen oder Dateien auf dem Server umzubenennen oder zu löschen.

WebDAV-Unterstützung ist in vielen Betriebssystemen wie etwas MacOS, Windows und Linux (mittels KDE) verfügbar. Alternativ ist eine Reihe von Anwendungen verfügbar, die das WebDAV-Protokoll realisieren und die für bestimmte Betriebssysteme und zu verschiedenen Lizenzbedingungen erhältlich sind (z.B.: cadaver, DAV Explorer oder Novell Netdrive Client).

Um eine Verbindung zu einem WebDAV-fähigen Server herzustellen, wird typischerweise nur die Eingabe der Server-URL und der Anmeldedaten (Benutzername und Kennwort) benötigt. Der Vorgang ist jedoch abhängig von der verwendeten WebDAV-Anwendung. Nachfolgend wird der Vorgang kurz für die Einrichtung einer WebDAV-Verbindung zu BSCW in Windows beschrieben.

Anmerkung: Nicht jeder BSCW-Server ist WebDAV-fähig. Dies ist abhängig von der installierten BSCW-Version sowie von der Konfiguration des Servers. Im Zweifelsfall fragen Sie bitte Ihren BSCW-Administrator.

Voraussetzungen zur Verwendung von WebDAV unter Windows

Die Verfügbarkeit (und Funktionsfähigkeit) von WebDAV unter Windows ist von den installierten Systemkomponenten (insbes. MS-Office) und dem Versionsstand (Updates, Service Packs) abhängig. Wir empfehlen die jeweils aktuellen Service Packs von Microsoft zu verwenden  (z.B. Windows XP mit SP3, Windows Vista mit SP2 oder Windows 7 mit SP1). 

Unter Windows7 sollte zudem der "WebClient"-Dienst aktiviert werden (ist inder Voreinstellung deaktiviert):

So überprüfen Sie den Status oder aktivieren Sie den WebClient-Dienst auf einem WebDAV-Clientcomputer

  1. Zeigen Sie im Startmenü auf Verwaltung, und klicken Sie dann auf Computerverwaltung.
  2. Doppelklicken Sie im Detailfenster auf Dienste und Anwendungen
  3. Doppelklicken Sie auf Dienste.
  4. Führen Sie einen Bildlauf nach unten durch, klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste auf WebClient, und klicken Sie dann auf Eigenschaften.
  5. Klicken Sie im Listenfeld Starttyp auf Automatisch.
  6. Klicken Sie auf Übernehmen.
  7. Klicken Sie im Abschnitt Dienststatus auf Start.
  8. Klicken Sie auf OK.


Beachten Sie bitte auch, dass Windows Vista und 7 nur noch Zugriff auf WebDAV via SSL ("https://"-Verbindung) mit einem "vertrauenswürdigen" Zertifikat erlauben. 

Anlegen einer Netzwerkverbindung zu BSCW unter Windows XP

Um sich mit einem BSCW-Server unter Windows XP mittels WebDAV zu verbinden, müssen Sie zunächst in der Netzwerkumgebung eine neue Verbindung anlegen. Wählen Sie dazu "Netzwerkressource hinzufügen" und geben Sie im Dialog die vollständige URL Ihres BSCW-Servers an (z.B. "http://bscw.server.de/bscw/bscw.cgi"). Sie werden dann nach Ihrem Benutzernamen und Kennwort gefragt. Wenn die neue Netzwerkverbindung erfolgreich angelegt wurde, so haben Sie darüber Zugriff auf den BSCW-Server. Der Standard-Datenbereich (":Benutzername") ist dabei über den Ordner-Alias 'home' erreichbar. Sie können nun über den Windows File Explorer auf Dokumente im BSCW zugreifen und (mittels kopieren & einfügen oder per drag and drop) Dokumente hoch- bzw. herunterladen.

Anlegen einer Netzwerkverbindung zu BSCW unter Windows 7/Vista

Um sich mit einem BSCW-Server unter Windows Vista mittels WebDAV zu verbinden, öffnen (auf dem Desktop oder unter "Start") "Computer" und wählen Sie rechts im freien Bereich per Rechts-Click "Netzwerkressource hinzufügen". Im Dialog "Netzwerkort hinzufügen" wählen Sie "[Weiter]" und dann "Eine benutzerdefinierte Netzwerkressource auswählen". Geben Sie im Dialog "Internet oder Netzwerkadresse" die vollständige URL Ihres BSCW-Servers an (z.B. "http://bscw.server.de/bscw/bscw.cgi"). Sie werden dann nach Ihrem Benutzernamen und Kennwort gefragt. Wenn die neue Netzwerkverbindung erfolgreich angelegt wurde, so können Sie einen Namen für die Verbindung wählen (etwa "Mein BSCW Server"). Sie haben nun über einen entsprechenden Eintrag in "Computer" Zugriff auf den BSCW-Server. Der Standard-Datenbereich (":Benutzername") ist dabei über den Ordner-Alias 'home' erreichbar. Sie können nun über den Windows File Explorer auf Dokumente im BSCW zugreifen und (mittels kopieren & einfügen oder per drag and drop) Dokumente hoch- bzw. herunterladen.

Problemlösung

Falls die oben beschriebene Methode nicht funktioniert (z.B. weil etwa der Dialog zur Eingabge von Benutzernamen und Kennwort immer wieder erscheint oder eine Fehlermeldung auftritt), folgen Sie bitte den nachfolgend beschriebenen Hinweisen zur Problemlösung.

  1. Versuchen Sie sich mittels https zu verbinden, d.h. verwenden Sie die URL
    https://bscw.server.de/bscw/bscw.cgi/
  2. Falls Ihr BSCW-Server kein HTTPS unterstützt, so fragen Sie bitte Ihren BSCW-Administrator. Falls die Aktivierung von HTTPS auf dem Server nicht möglich ist, so folgen Sie bitte den u.g. Hinweisen von Microsoft, um die Netzwerkverbindung auch auf ungesicherten Servern mittels "Basic authentication" und WebDAV zuzulassen (dies erfordert eine Konfigurationsänderung Ihres Windows-PCs).
  3. Geben Sie im Dialog unter "Netzwerkresource hinzufügen" die URL Ihres BSCW-Servers mit einem abschließenden '#' an. Also etwa
    http://
    bscw.server.de/bscw/bscw.cgi/#
    (Das '#' am Ende bewirkt unter Windows XP, dass statt dem 'Microsoft-WebDAV-MiniRedir/5.1.2600' der 'Microsoft Data Access Internet Publishing Provider DAV' als WebDAV-Client verwendet wird.)
  4. Falls der Anmeldedialog erneut erscheint und im Feld "Benutzername" den eingegebenen Namen mit einem vorangestellten Rechnernamen enthält (z.B. "server\\meier"), so korrigieren Sie den Eintrag bitte (d.h. entfernen Sie z.B. "server"). Geben Sie dann Ihr Kennwort erneut ein und bestätigen Sie den Dialog. (Dieser Schritt muss u.U. mehrfach wiederholt werden.)
  5. Fall das Anlegen einer Netzwerkverbindung immer noch nicht möglich ist, so versuchen Sie unter "Netzwerkressource hinzufügen" die URL des Servers als spezielle 'share'-URL anzugeben, z.B. \\bscw.server.de\\bscw\\bscw.cgi
  6. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie alle Akualisierungen (Service Packs) für Ihr Betriebssystem installiert haben.
  7. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr BSCW-Server in der aktuellen Version betrieben wird. Kontaktieren Sie ggf. Ihren BSCW Administrator.

Weitere Hinweise für Windows-Anwender

Unter Windows (XP / Vista / 7) können Sie u.U. keine WebDAV-Verbindung einrichten, falls Ihr BSCW-Server nicht unter SSL betrieben wird (d.h. die Server-URL beginnt nicht mit https://). Falls Ihr BSCW-Server kein HTTPS unterstützt, so fragen Sie bitte Ihren BSCW-Administrator. Falls die Aktivierung von HTTPS auf dem Server nicht möglich ist, so folgen Sie bitte den u.g. Hinweisen von Microsoft, um die Netzwerkverbindung auch auf ungesicherten Servern mittels "Basic authentication" und WebDAV zuzulassen:

  1. Öffnen Sie unter "Start" / "Ausführen" den Registry-Editor, indem Sie "regedit" eingeben.
  2. Suchen Sie den folgenden Schlüssel (und öfffen Sie diesen): HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Services\\WebClient\\Parameters
  3. Im Bearbeiten-Menu wählen Sie "Neu" und dann "DWORD-Wert".
  4. Unter Windows Vista: geben Sie "BasicAuthLevel" ein und bestätigen Sie (Eingabetaste); Wählen Sie im Bearbeiten-Menu "Ändern" und geben Sie den neuen Wert ein: 2 - anschliessend bestätigen Sie die Eingabe (Eingabetaste).
  5. Unter Windows XP: geben Sie "UseBasicAuth" ein und bestätigen Sie (Eingabetaste); Wählen Sie im Bearbeiten-Menu "Ändern" und geben Sie den neuen Wert ein: 1 - anschliessend bestätigen Sie die Eingabe (Eingabetaste).
  6. Beenden Sie den Registry Editor. Anschliessend sollten Sie den Computer neu starten.
Note: For security purposes, Windows Vista and Windows XP SP2 disable Basic authentication in the Web Distributed Authoring and Versioning (WebDAV) Redirector. Therefore either use of HTTPS (SSL connection) is required or special configuration (on the client) has to be done as described by MS Knwoledgebase:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/841215/en-us