Operating BSCW on Windows

Operating a BSCW system on Windows

From a user perspective, there is no difference between Unix and Windows when using the BSCW system. However, there are differences in configuring and administering the Windows version. It is therefore recommended that system administrators read the information provided below.

Note:  Below are some general hints on installation and operation of BSCW servers. Further details are provided in the  Administrator Manual which should be read when installing a BSCW server.

Configuration

The BSCW server should run out of the box without any further configuration. The system allows you to set various configuration parameters. As with the Unix version, configuring your BSCW server on Windows requires editing a number of configuration files (see the admin manual for details). Most changes in the configuration files take immediate effect.

In case of any configuration problems you can instruct BSCW to check the configuration by invoking the command

> cd C:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]
> bin\bsadmin chkconfig

Administration

All BSCW server datasets are stored in, and administered by, the BSCW database. The BSCW database server is administered via command line with the bsadmin script, which is located in the BSCW instance directory. The BSCW server can be administered by executing the bsadmin script from a DOS shell as follows:

> cd c:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]
> bin\bsadmin start
        starts the BSCW-Server
> bin\bsadmin stop 
           stops the BSCW-Server
> bin\bsadmin garbage 
        runs the garbage collector (the database server must be running)
> bin\bsadmin
        shows further commands.

It is suggested to start the BSCW-Server automatically (upon system boot). To achieve this install BSCW as Windows service (which is recommended during the installation). It is strongly recommended that you run garbage collection on a daily basis.

Web Server Configuration  (IIS/Apache HTTP)

The BSCW installation procedure will automatically configure the IIS web server, is active on the system. The BSCW server requires several directory mappings in your web server. These mappings depend on the BSCW server configuration. The required directory mappings are set and configured automatically by the BSCW Server for Windows installation program. In addition, they can be updated manually by using the following script:

> cd C:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]
> bin\bsadmin conf_iis

You may also operate BSCW Server for Window with an Apache Web server. The configuration is generated similar to the Unix based system by using the following script:

> bin\bsadmin conf_apache

De-Installation

To ensure the BSCW system is completely removed during de-installation, please heed the following advice:

  • Stop the BSCW service resp. run "bsadmin stop"
  • Delete the complete BSCW instance directory (including all data!), f.e. "C:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]"
  • Start the uninstaller in the systems control panel.
  • Remove the virtual BSCW directories from your web server configuration.

Hilfe bei der Einrichtung unter Windows

Betrieb von BSCW-Sytemen unter Windows

Aus der Sicht des Endbenutzers gibt es keinen besonderen Unterschied zwischen der Nutzung eines BSCW-Servers unter Windows gegenüber einem BSCW-Server, der unter Unix betrieben wird. Allerdings sind bei Einrichtung und Betrieb unter Windows einige Besonderheiten zu beachten.

Hinweis: Hier sind einige allgemeine Hinweise zur Installation und Betrieb von BSCW-Systemen aufgeführt. Weitere Details zur Installation eines BSCW-Servers finden Sie im Administrator-Handbuch.

Konfiguration

Der BSCW-Server sollte unter Windows nach der Installation 'out of the box' funktionieren und zunächst keine weiteren Konfigurationsschritte erfordern. Ähnlich wie bei der Unix-Variante von BSCW erfolgt die weitere Konfiguration eines BSCW-Servers unter Windows wesentlich durch Bearbeiten verschiedener Konfigurationsdateien. Bei Problemen mit der Konfiguration sollten Sie BSCW auffordern, die Konfiguration zu prüfen, indem Sie das folgende Kommando ausführen:

> cd C:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]
> bin\bsadmin chkconfig

Administration

Die Datenbasis des BSCW-Servers wird vom BSCW-Datenbank-Server verwaltet. Der Datenbank-Server wird über die Kommandozeile (per bsadmin-Skript) verwaltet. In der DOS-Konsole können Sie verschiedene Funktionen zur Steuerung des BSCW-Datenbank-Servers aufrufen:

> cd C:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]
> bin\bsadmin start 

Startet den BSCW-Server.

> bin\bsadmin stop

Hält den BSCW-Server an.

> bin\bsadmin garbage

Startet den "Müllsammler" (garbage collector).  Der Datenbank-Server muss hierbei laufen.

> bin\bsadmin 

Zeigt weitere Kommandos an.

Es wird empfohlen, den BSCW-Server automatisch zu starten, indem das Kommando "bsadmin start" in den Startvorgang des Servers eingebunden wird. Installieren Sie dazu BSCW als Windows-Dienst (wie während der Installtion vorgeschlagen). Weiter sollte die Garbage Collection automatisiert in regelmäßigen Intervallen (täglich) erfolgen.

Einrichtung Web-Server (IIS/Apache HTTP)

Der BSCW-Server richtet den IIS-Web-Server automatisch bei der Installation ein, sofern dieser auf dem System aktiviert ist. Die Konfiguration ist dabei abhängig von der BSCW-Server-Einstellung. Diese Verzeichnis-Einstellungen des IIS-Web-Servers können bei Bedarf aktualisiert werden, indem das folgende Kommando ausgeführt wird:

> cd C:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]
> bin\bsadmin conf_iis

Analog zu Unix-Systemen können Sie BSCW unter Windows auch mit dem Apache Web-Server verwenden. Die Konfiguration erfolgt über das Kommando:
> bin\bsadmin conf_apache

De-Installation

Um sicherzustellen, dass das BSCW-System vollständig von Ihrem System entfernt wird, gehen Sie bitte wie folgt vor:

  • Stoppen Sie den BSCW-Server Dienst bzw. führen Sie "bsadmin stop" aus
  • Löschen Sie das gesamte BSCW Instanz Verzeichnis (mit allen Daten!),  z.B. "C:\BSCW\srv\[hostname]"
  • Starten Sie den 'un-installer' in der Systemsteuerung ("Programme & Funktionen")
  • Entfernen Sie alle virtuellen Verzeichnisse von BSCW in Ihrer Web-Server Konfiguration